Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Dee Hansen



Dr. Demaris (Dee) Hansen is a Professor Emeritus of Music Education at The Hartt School, University of Hartford, CT. She served as Director of Hartt Graduate Studies, Chair of Graduate Studies in Music Education, and was Director of The Hartt Summerterm graduate program (2006-2014). She was the Director of the Hartt Centennial Historical Project and wrote One Hundred Years of Hartt: A Centennial Celebration of the Hartt School, published by Wesleyan University Press in 2019. Dee regularly publishes articles for NAfME, CMEA, The U.S. Department of Education, and chapters and scholarly articles for the International Society of Assessment in Music Education, Oxford, and GIA. She authored The Handbook of Music Supervision in 2002. She was primary author of The Music and Literacy Connection, 2nd Edition (2014). She presents professional development training internationally and nationally on curriculum design and assessment, applications of learning theory, brain research and effective pedagogy, and literacy connections between language, reading, and music. She was an Associate Professor of Music Education at Baker University in Kansas from 2002-2006. Dee was the Fine Arts Consultant for the Kansas State Department of Education from 1994-2002, president of the Kansas Music Educators Association from 2005-2006, and was inducted into the KMEA Hall of Fame in 2020. She served on the Executive Committee of The National Council for Music Program Leaders. Dee served as a member of The Hartford Symphony Education Committee and The Julius Hartt Foundation Board of Trustees. She is the immediate past-president of The Connecticut Arts Administrators Association. Dee performs as a Baroque and Renaissance flautist, Baroque guitarist, and Celtic harpist with the Entwyned Early Music Trio. She earned her Bachelor of Music Education degree and Masters of Music History and Literature from Southern Methodist University. Her Doctorate of Musical Arts was earned in 1991 from The University of Missouri at Kansas City Conservatory of Music.